#424 – Hung Vuong Square

ACE.424-hung vuong square 170620-2-wm

When I arrived in Bạc Liêu, I had a bit of free time, so instead of crashing out in the hotel (like I usually do), I went out to do some sketching (and find some food). I sat in the square on a supremely uncomfortable metal perch (some architects idea of a vandal free bench) to sketch this, while I ate some sweetcorn. Apparently this sculpture is of a dan kim (a two-string guitar), which is the symbol of Bạc Liêu (I saw it in gold embossed certificates and even wall clocks during my trip). I was a bit dissatisfied with the drawing – and felt it was not bold enough.

Tue-20-June-2017

Leave a Reply

